SOUTH DAKOTA HEARING AID ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
The South Dakota Hearing Aid Assistance Program provides financial assistance for purchase
of hearing aid(s) and associated ear mold(s) for eligible applicants less than 19 years of age.

Audiologist’s Medical Information Form

| APPLICANT INFORMATION

Name:

Address:

Date of birth: / / Age:

PROVIDER INFORMATION

Provider name:

Provider NPI (National Provider Identification) #:

State License #:

Phone number: Fax number:

MEDICAL EVALUATION

As required by the FDA, a prospective hearing aid user must provide a written statement from a
licensed physician that the prospective user has been medically evaluated and is a candidate
for a hearing aid(s). A hearing evaluation must occur within 6 months prior to the date of
purchase of the hearing aid(s). If 18 years of age or older, the prospective user may waive this
requirement provided the prospective user signs a waiver statement. Children (age less than 18
years) are not eligible for a waiver.

| (audiologist name) will obtain the physician’s medical
clearance necessary for the hearing aid(s) fitting prior to the fitting.

HEARING EVALUATION

Date tested / /

Type of loss: (check)

Sensorineural Conductive Mixed Auditory Neuropathy Spectrum Disorder
R L R L R L R L

Degree of hearing loss

Mild Hearing Loss: Moderate Hearing Loss:

(20 TO 40dB HL) (40 to 60 dB HL)

Severe Hearing Loss: Profound hearing loss (including deafness):
(60 to 80 dB HL) (+80 dB HL)




Diagnosis — Include an explanation of the particular problem resulting from the diagnosis which
relates to this equipment request:

How long is this problem expected to last? Months Indefinitely Permanently

HEARING AID INFORMATION

Has consumer used a hearing aid in the past? Yes No

Approximate age of old hearing aid:

EQUIPMENT

Manufacturer name: Style/model:

Hearing aid for: Right Ear___ Leftear Binaural

Usual and Customary Cost of Equipment

Right ear Left ear Binaural

Usual and Customary Cost of Initial Ear Mold

Right ear Left ear Binaural

HEARING AID FITTING

I confirm that | will be doing Real Ear Verification: Yes No

After evaluating this patient, | certify the need for the dispensing of a hearing aid(s)

Audiologist signature: Date: / /

Once approved, the Department of Human Services will authorize services to the audiologist.
The authorization will include authorized dollar amount that will be paid to the provider.

| FINANCIAL CONTRIBUTION

e The South Dakota Hearing Aid Assistance Program is the payer of last resort after
private health insurance or other third party resource.

e The program will pay only for hearing aids and associated ear molds. It will be the
responsibility of the provider to separate out any other applicable costs which will be the
responsibility of the applicant.

Payment will be made directly to the provider.

e Any applicable copayments are the responsibility of the consumer.

e To be eligible for a hearing aid(s), an individual must not have received a hearing aid(s)
through this program or SD Medicaid within 3 years prior to the date of application.



