
Frequently Asked Questions 
South Dakota Interpreting Law 

 
 

1. If I am certified with another state (IE:  Florida, Missouri, etc), can I be 
licensed to work in SD after July 1st?  If so, what certifications will SD 
accept? 

 South Dakota will recognize the certification listed below;   
i. National Certification (RID, NAD and, EIPA with a score 

of at least 3.5) 
ii. Certified by the Department of Human Services prior to 

July 1, 2006 
iii. But, the interpreter must register with the Department of 

Human Services to work in South Dakota and receive a SD 
Certification based on this registration. 

 
2. I graduated from an interpreter training program.  Will I have 5 years to 

obtain certification like all new interpreters will?   
 Per 1-36-10.4 if you graduate from a postsecondary degree 

program of two years or more accredited in interpreter 
preparation or interpreter education you will be granted a 
provisional certification to work in SD for up to 5 years.   You 
must apply for a provisional certification.  This application must 
include a plan of study which includes mentoring and CEU hours.   

 
3. What will the certificate maintenance process be?  Do I have to get a 

certain number of CEU’s each year or just have some activity to show 
that I am doing something? 

 Nationally certified individuals must maintain the respective 
national certification maintenance requirements. 

 SD certified, provisional, and EIPA certified individuals must 
maintain SD certification maintenance requirements.  This 
requires 25 continuing education hours per year. 

 
4. Upon graduation from my interpreter training program am I allowed to 

work for any company or do I need to wait for the final administrative 
rules to be developed before working? 

 This new law goes into effect July 1, 2006 but you will need to 
submit an application to the Department of Human Services for a 
provisional certification.  This application must include a plan for 
mentoring and continuing education which must be approved by 
the Department of Human Services.  The interpreter will then 
need to register annually.  Annual registration will require proof 
of 25 continuing education hours. 

 



5. What is the procedure for getting registered with the State of South 
Dakota? 

 Apply to the department with an application for registration along 
with the registration fee.  This application is available online or by 
calling the department. 

 
6. What process should I take if I forget to pay my registration fee annually 

to the State of South Dakota and my South Dakota Certification lapses? 
 There will be no allowance for late registration.  If an individual 

does not register in a timely fashion their SD certification will 
lapse.   

 
7. Will I, a current state of South Dakota certified interpreter, be 

grandfathered in to this new law?  What steps do I need to take to be 
certain I am still able to work? 

 Yes, current SD certified interpreters will be grandfathered 
 SD certified interpreters must register initially and annually and 

maintain CEU requirements.   
 

8. What are the ramifications of working in South Dakota without being 
registered with the State? 

 Per SDCL 1-36A10.3 a violation of this section is a Class 2 
misdemeanor. 

 
9. How do I find additional information for mentoring support?  Are there 

certified mentors in South Dakota?  Are there mentoring resources to 
assist rural SD interpreters who wish to enhance certification levels? 

 Mentoring will be available through approved mentors.  Contact 
DHS for names of approved mentors. 

 DHS is looking at resources for interpreters in rural areas.   
 
10. Will I be reminded by the State of South Dakota? 

 It is the intent of the department to send one courtesy notice one 
month prior to the annual registration date for each registered 
interpreter, but due to address changes and circumstances beyond 
our control not every interpreter may be notified.  It is your 
responsibility to know your certification expiration date and when 
you should be registering. 

 
11. How will CEU’s be tracked and how many will be required? 

 The Department will establish procedures for submitting 25 CEU 
hours to the department on an annual basis for those under 
Section 3 & Section 4 (subsection 4).  Nationally certified 
interpreters with the RID and NAD will track their CEU hours 
through the RID CMP program. 

 



12. What will happen with the registration fees and the provisional fees that 
have already been submitted to the Department of Humans? 

 Per Department of Human Services policy, these checks must be 
deposited.  The Department of Human Services will hold onto all 
the applications and backdate them to the effective date of the 
application upon adoption of final administrative rules.  The 
Department will provide receipt of payment along with 
certifications.   

 
13. Will the state respond to those who have already submitted a registration 

or provisional certification application to the Department of Human 
Services? 

 Yes, it is the intent of the department to respond in writing to all 
the individuals who have already submitted paperwork on behalf 
of the new statues. 

 
14. What will happen if the registration fee would be less than $75.00? 

 For State Certified interpreters (certified with the Department of 
Human Services prior to July 1, 2006) this fee will likely remain at 
$75.00.   

 
 
 

 
 


